The Other Side of The Family: Canada Bound!

The Goss family is connected to me, through my father’s mother’s side of the family, through his grandmother Amarilla Barclay Dawes Urton.  Yes, Amarilla was married three times.  Her first husband George Angus Barclay was murdered in 1898.  So she remarried to a J.G. Dawes and that ended in divorce.  About 10 year later she married again to a George Urton and they were together for the remainder of their lives.  Amarilla and her life are featured in this blog:

The Barclay’s of Pine River: http://barclayspineriver.wordpress.com/

Amarilla’s maiden name was Spracklin.  Her parents were Daniel D. Spracklin and Elizabeth Keller.  Daniel’s father was John Andrews Spracklin and he married Lydia Goss the daughter of Solomon Goss and Olive (Scott) Goss.

Amarilla and George had Grace and she married a Ronald S. McDonald in 1898 in Hudson, Wisconsin but they lived in Minnesota where my dad was born.   These two people are my grandparents.

Actually, I started with the MacDonald/McDonald/McDonell/Macdonell side of my family when I began researching because that is what I knew the best.

This Spring of 2012, I am off to Ontario and Quebec, Canada to learn more about the origins of my great grandfather Archibald McDonell and my great grandmother Mary McDonell’s family. Yes, they were both McDonell’s.

I will also be learning more about the Brown side of my family, my mother’s side!  As you can see I have deep roots in Canada with my mother’s side and my father’s.

If you have connections to Ontario or Quebec join me as I travel along!  I will be attending the Ontario Genealogical Society Conference in Kingston June 1-3, 2012.  You will find more information at these links:

My Dad’s McDonald roots are featured in this blog The Man Who Lived Airplanes: http://macdonellfamily.wordpress.com/

and my mother’s Canadian side is featured in this blog The Boardmans and Browns of Winnipeg: http://boardmanbrown.wordpress.com/

I will be sharing my adventures on both blogs.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

