Shickshinny, Luzerne County, Pennsylvania

When I first came to Luzerne County I drove right through Shickshinny. These towns are not labeled very well so I suddenly realized I was there. I could not linger because I needed to get to the Luzerne County Historical Society in Wilkes-Barre and I was late for my first day of research. So I come back on my way out on Wednesday, September 17, 2008 and ate lunch at the Wagon Wheel. As I ate my lunch I made new friends. I walked around the main area and I took pictures of the town. I bought a Shickshinny T-shirt at the Graphics store past the mini-mart and gas station. I wish the Greater Shickshinny Historical Society much success with their new building.

On Sunday at 3 p.m. between the visits to the cemeteries, I stopped for about about 2 hours to give a talk on Genealogy for the Greater Shickshinny Historical Society. I own BJM Genealogical Research Services and am current President of the Puget Sound Chapter of the APG. My talk was about hiring a genealogist to assist you with your genealogical research and explained the differences between the APG (Association of Professional Genealogists) and the BCG (Board of Certification). I also gave tips on hiring a professional genealogist. I then explained my family research and why this Scottish girl was visiting the area. I gave a description of the family I was researching and the surnames Goss, Scott and Seward are the main ones. There are more names but it can get a little overwhelming.

I then went over some principles about doing genealogy and things to look out for. I left my presentation board with the Historical Society for their use. A small group had gathered for this talk and it was fun to answer their questions. Again, thanks Donna and Phil for putting this together. I appreciate it.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in APG, BJM Genealogical Research Services, Greater Shickshinny Historical Society. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

