Traveling along the Susquehanna River

I left Sunbury September 11th about 10:50 a.m. and drove up Hiway 147 to cross over Island and the Susquehanna River to the north side and Hiway 11 and headed east. First up was Danville, then Bloomsburg where I stopped to seek out the Rosemount Cemetery which is a little outside of town in Espy. My cousin needed me to get a photograph for her of a grave. I pulled out her maps and information and found John Boice’s grave fairly easily. It was a big cemetery so it was very important that she had marked the map of the cemetery that she had e-mailed me with a big X. I was a little surprised but his wife’s grave was behind him and over to the left about 5-6 grave sights. Shall we speculate, why so far away? I took photos of the area and other graves to make sure there was a reference. My chore was done so I was off on my way.

The next town was Berwick and after that Shickshinny which came up much faster than I expected and I was in Shickshinny next thing I knew I was out of that town and on my way to Wilkes-Barre. I found Hiway 29 and turned south but after some thought I probably would have been easier to just go into Plymouth and Kingston and turn south on Market. Anyway I did make my way through to Wilkes-Barre and finally found the public square which was crowded with people for the Farmer’s market. I turned down Market to the Best Western and checked in. I didn’t go to my room I parked the car, packed up and headed for the Luzerne Historical Society. I arrived there at 1 p.m. so I was an hour late and that meant only 3 hours of research time.

It was a busy day, visiting the courthouse in Sunbury, driving to Bloomsburg to document a grave and then driving further to Wilkes-Barre and doing research at the Luzerne Historical Society.

The Best Western Genetti is well situated to walk to the Historical Society and other sites in the downtown Wilkes-Barre area.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Bloomsburg, Rosemount Cemetery, Wilkes-Barre. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

