Northeast Pennsylvania Genealogical Society, Shavertown, Pennsylvania

My visit to the Northeast Pennsylvania Genealogical Society was too short but I was very impressed with this group of friendly locals. They welcomed me graciously and introduced themselves and made me feel comfortable.

This society is located in Shavertown just minutes from Wilkes-Barre and Kingston. I took Hiway 309 north from Kingston and was there in no time. Once you get to Shavertown turn right at Center Street and then N. Main is right there. Keep an eye out for a small building on the left about ½ way down N. Main at 156 North Main Street. The sign is on the front of the building and reads “NE Pennsylvania…”

Website: www.rootsweb.com/~panepgs/ or call 1-570-674-7648, email is nepagsl@epix.net

I was greeted by Ann who has a hearty voice knowns just what they have in this genealogical society and is there to assist you. My interest was the cemeteries and she handed me 2 heavy white binders. So I started looking for cemeteries in Huntington Twp. and Fairmount Twp. Ann pointed out a cemetery map that was on the wall that had red dots with numbers on them indicating the location of the known cemeteries in Luzerne County. I was thrilled and asked if I could take a photo and was told to go right ahead and I did. So I did of the Huntington & Fairmount Twps.

I was happily studying the cemetery books when Ann mentioned my cousin had been by looking at cemeteries. So I explained our relationship. My cousin Jean is a descendant of John Andrew Spracklin’s son Solomon Goss Spracklin who is the brother to my Daniel Dare (Dair) Spracklin. John Andrews Spracklin married Lydia Goss and it was the Goss family that both of us where interested in.

I took a look at their family histories and found some information on Thankful Forbes who married Nathaniel Goss, Jr . There was a whole genealogy on the Forbes family. I studied their listing huge listing of church records which are on microfilm. They also have an index of the FHL films for the Family History Center in Scranton. You have order them at the center however. They have history books on the shelf that cover the area and some rather unusual ones. They also have internet access for online genealogy.

They may be small but they are friendly and knowledgeable about genealogy in their area. The cemetery maps and records are worth a visit.

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Northeast Pennsylvania Genealogical Society, Shavertown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

