Sunbury, Pennsylvania – Northumberland County Seat

My visit to Sunbury was only a 1 night stay but I did it in style at the River View Bed and Breakfast right on Hiway 147 and the corner of Chestnut, which is a one way street going East. The house is beautiful and sits overlooking the Susquehannah River and a park with a gazebo. If you see the gazebo you know you are right by the B&B. The first Gazebo not the second one! I found the key as instructed and proceeded to empty my car and pile my items by a chair in the lobby area. I then reparked the car over in the back of the house across the street. No to convenient for luggage handling although I did park temporarily on the street till I collected my items. I had reduced myself to a few choice things to keep it simple for repacking.

I entered the River View Inn and was greeted with beautiful antiques, lovely floral arrangements, mirrors, paintings and rich colors. I love B&B’s and enjoy seeing the details provided by the owners and their choices of colors, textures and decor. Staying at B&B’s is always an adventure.
The River View Inn is a little oasis in Sunbury. I found a grocery store nearby and bought some food for my dinner. I was having trouble finding restaurants that would not mean driving across the river. So keep that in mind. Actually I was to learn that going to Northumberland on the other side of the river was not that hard and they had a better selection I suspect.The picture above is of the Susquehannah through the window of the B&B. So there are reflections of the glass.
About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Northumberland, River View Bed and Breakfast, Sunbury. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

