The State Library of Pennsylvania, Harrisburg

I spent Monday at the State Library. It is next to the State Capital. It is in the first floor of this large building to the right as you enter – Room 102 which is called the Reading Room. It is made up of a large room with Alcoves and then mezzanines. At least 2 levels that you climb the stairs to find books. The Genealogy room is to the right and is about 2 rooms deep with a mezzainine for more family histories. There are lots of nooks and crannies in this library. If you are the kind who likes to look and see what there is beware or they will wonder what is wrong with you. I was stopped twice because of my curiosity.
I spent most of my time in the Genealogy Room where you find county and state histories, family histories and more. I ordered some newspaper microfilms to study from the Reference Librarian. It requires a form to fill out. I was not successful in finding obituaries 1801 to 1855 time period for my family. I did find legal notices, some deaths, some marriages, land sales, partnership dissolutions so they did have good information, but it would take a lot of time and determination to get the information for your specific family if at all.

Many book titles are in the Genealogy room and some are in the main library area. You just have to get use to the way they label things 929. or Ref## is the number in the Genealogical Room and 974 is outside in the first two alcoves.
The Reference librarians are there to assist you if you need help and they also are in charge of ordering items from the basement. These are usually closed stack items. The morning group of assistants was very helpful and friendly. Come prepared with your copies of the library catalog items that you research online before you come. It helps. They use them to order the items for you.

All in all I am glad I visited the State Library and would recommend it to anyone. Happy Hunting!

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Harrisburg, State Library of Pennsylvania. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

