Second Time Around – DAR Library

Before going to Pennsylvania there will be a slight detour to Washington D.C. an awesome place to visit.

On August 14th I fly out to D.C. with my hubby. He will be attending a seminar through his hospital and I will visit the DAR Library (Daughters of the American Revolution) and other repositories. We will be there for about a week. This will be my 4th time to Washington D.C. and my second time to the DAR Library.

My first visit to the DAR Library Washington D.C. I was very green to genealogy. It was at the DAR Library that I discovered my Mayflower heritage through my Goss line. My cousins Paul Henry Goss and Flora Montanye Osborn did a lot of research back in the 1930’s-1950’s and wrote articles and manuscripts. I have been collecting these articles and manuscripts and have about 20 plus in my genealogical library.

So I am off to the DAR Library to research these two cousins and hopefully learn more about them and to continue checking the sources used by Paul and Flora. Later I will compile all my findings and put them into some form to share with others researching the Goss Family. This is the same Goss Family that I will be doing research on in Pennsylvania. So going to the DAR Library before visiting Pennsylvania will be great!

I will also be doing client research. I plan to visit the Virginia Room of the Fairfax County Regional Library in Fairfax, Virginia. My client has an old North Carolina family that has roots in Pennsylvania, Maryland and Washington D.C.
My other client has a very old Virginia family who probably knew Thomas Jefferson and may have a family connection to George Washington. I am hoping to visit with him and plan some strategies for research other family lines that will take us to an very interesting place?

I can hardly wait to dangle my feet at the DAR Library!

About BJ MacDonald

Interested in travel, really into genealogy and researching my family history, classic novels and movies, fantasy and science fiction, photography, history and more... Here is a tip. Make sure you are commenting on the blog you were visiting and the post you were interested in. My blogs are listed by hovering over my pictures and clicking. Clicking one of them will take you back to the correct blog. You can try me here: bjmcdonell@gmail.com
This entry was posted in DAR Library, Virginia, Washington D.C.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Second Time Around – DAR Library

  1. Byrna says:

    Hi Bonnie, I logged onto your blog site so I could put in on my Favorites list. This way it’ll be easy to check on your travels in Sept. I enjoyed the preliminary writings and the campout summary. Keep writing. Byrna

Leave a Reply

